Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
snoopyplaysbass 10 years ago

Cantu,
My wife and I ride an E2 recumbent tandem bicycle. It could be that since we are basically in a sitting position, most of the workout goes into our legs and our legs show it. I also ride a standard mountain bike, but it doesn’t seem to give the same emphasis on the legs as the recumbent does. I’m not familiar with an Elliptical, but if you can vary the angle of your legs to its pedals, try experimenting. On walking: I’ve been sedentary for over two and a half years because I took and early retirement from the sheet metal industry and came back to finish a BS that I started in the early eighties – I graduated two weeks ago with a BS in Psychological Brain Science (WooHoo!) Anyway, I picked up about twenty-five extra pounds in my abdomen (my avatar picture was taken right after I finished my last final)and started walking one mile in the morning and one mile in the afternoon. As I have a history of hip joint degeneration on my mother’s side of the family, I don’t think that it would be wise to jog or run right from the start, so I’ve elected to walk until I lose enough not to put excessive stress on hip, knees, or ankles. Ease into a routine, eat what this group recommends and always know that the moral support is here when you need it.

diverchuck 10 years ago